Beta Number 3

As you may have seen, the third beta version is available (I could not announce it earlier due to water damage on my phone). Fract made a lot of progress, UI tweaks, improved preset, a lot of code cleaning and so on.

But first, I am looking for one beta tester. If you use a Samsung Galaxy A70 (a70q) and Fract crashes on you, please contact me. It is the only crash reported in two months in the play store. Please tell me how to reproduce this crash on your device, or whether your device is ‘special’ in some way. From what I can tell, a Java feature called reflection does not work properly on your phone.

What is new in the latest Beta? I guess the user interface improved quite a lot, in particular the fractal is now shown in full screen and there is a “Show Grid”-menu. There are already some bugs that I found, mainly UI things (two toolbars in context mode, the parameters’ menu is too transparent, the toolbar disappears in the palette editor in landscape mode…) which will be fixed in the next version.

Screenshot_20200312-090941.png

On a more technical side, you now can easily enter Nova fractals and Newton fractals, eg “newton(sinh z + c, z)”, my old favorite. Use the Aggregate-program for these.

fract_15840007440652647704672029631716.png

And I was playing around with Nova-fractals and exponential smoothing for bounded fractals like the Newton Set. Look at this fun Mandelbrot inside a Nova fractal (I tweaked the “Aggregate”-program a bit for this:

mandel_in_nova.png

For the release candiate, I will add a context menu to reset parameters and fix some UI bugs. Furthermore, I will add the Lyapunov program, a program for complex functions and two for Orbit traps. I also want to add a “Save to Gallery”-menu item.

Features like color cycling animation, on-screen editing of parameters and split-screen for multiple fractals will follow after the release (mainly for the sake of stability). So, for now enjoy this image of Zirkon Zity, which will be available in the next update, the release candidate:

zity.png

Cheers, Karl.

This entry was posted in Fract, Updates and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a comment